Freeholders Honor Newark Tech Hoopsters

Terriers are 2013 Group 2 state champs

On May 1, the Essex County Board of Chosen Freeholders presented a proclamation honoring the boys basketball team at Newark Tech, winner of the 2013 Group 2 State Championship.

The board’s commendation was sponsored by Freeholder President Blonnie Watson and freeholders Rufus Johnson and Rolando Bobadilla of Newark, and Freeholder Carol Clark of East Orange.

The Newark Tech team comprises the following members: Seniors Nasir White, Justin Eke, Dwayne Murrill, Rakwan Kelly, Komoko Turray, Stephon Johnson and Travis Wint; Juniors Al-Tariq Halsey, Sharilon Labato, Dino Boyd and Tyree Sykes; Sophomores Jeros Page, Jordan Zagadou and Walker Wilson; and Freshman Mustafa Lawrence.  The team managers were Julia Barton, Jamanii McCreary, Monique Hunter, Ny’ae McMillan and Shadae Smith.  The team was coached by Head Coach Joe Jordan, Assistant Coaches Richard Woods and George Benton, and JV Coach Robert Cole.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »